Reviews

Masham, North Yorkshire

Shaun came to cook in our rented house in Masham for a 60th birthday celebration for 17 people and he was great.

He was flexible with us for people who had specific dietary requirements or taste and worked quietly and diligently in the kitchen, introduced and served a lovely three course meal single-handedly with generous portions and great flavours (two days later we are still eating the leftover dessert!).

Would definitely recommend.

Paul Howe
February 2024

Masham, North Yorkshire

Shaun was great - very friendly, coped well with our party banter and, most importantly, the food was really, really good. All very enjoyable and very efficient.

Thank you. Highly recommended.

Richard Wright
February 2024

Scarborough, North Yorkshire

Shaun attended our holiday cottage in North Yorkshire to cook a retirement dinner for my family.

He cooked a fantastic 3 course meal selected by us, taking into account a nut allergy and a dairy intolerance.

He arrived on time with everything he needed, made our meal a special occasion, made us very relaxed and he left the kitchen spotless.

I can only recommend Shaun.

The McDill Family
February 2024

Penrith, Cumbria

Shaun was our private chef for a hen party recently and his food was exquisite.

He was fantastic at catering for a variety of needs and allergies. We thoroughly enjoyed working with him and selecting from the variety of amazing menu options he suggested.

On the evening he was prompt, efficient and his service was extremely professional. He left behind a spotless kitchen.

We had a fabulous dinner and would thoroughly recommend him.

Kristina Goodwin
January 2024

Gisburn, Lancashire

Shaun catered for us, for party of twelve people. We discussed menus beforehand. He arrived prompt at the venue and brought everything needed for a three course meal.

The food was prepared from fresh and we all agreed it was delicious.

He then cleared up and washed everything and left the kitchen absolutely spotless.

Would I recommend Shaun? ……..most definitely 100%

Marilyn Hannan
January 2024

Osmotherly, North Yorkshire

Thank you so much for cooking for us. We had an amazing day, you were fantastic and we are so grateful for your hard work behind the scenes.

You proved why you were the only person we considered for our event - I can't praise you highly enough.

You made the 60th birthday one that will be remembered and talked about for a long time to come.

We would definitely consider you again for the next big family gathering!

Inga Willett
January 2024

Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales

Shaun was fantastic. Catered for a vegan menu for a non-vegan crowd and smashed it.

Excellent hospitality, very warm and great tasting food above all else.

Nicky Velani
January 2024

near York, North Yorkshire

Fantastic evening, where everything was done by Shaun, leaving us to enjoy time with friends.

Food great and kitchen left clean and tidy. What more can we ask?

Well worth it.

Tim Hobbs
December 2023

Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria

Can’t thank Shaun enough for an excellent private meal cooked for our 10 guests at our house.

Shaun’s food was excellent and served with style and a smile.
He turned up early to prepare and left the kitchen spotless.

Can only recommend highly for private dining events.

Andreas Bauer
November 2023

Lake District

Amazing experience! Shaun was completely flexible to suit everyone’s needs and choices.

Cooked the most incredible three course meal, accompanied with special breads, we had pulled pork nachos or prawn cocktail for starter, fillet steak for main with either peppercorn sauce or mushroom sauce, then for pudding it was sticky toffee pudding and it’s got to be the best pudding I’ve ever tasted.

Everything was beautiful and I really couldn’t fault Shaun and his cooking!

Highly recommend and will definitely use Shaun again!

Lisamarie Lowe
November 2023

Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Shaun arrived punctually and was very friendly. He prepared the meal for my wife’s 60th. We barely noticed him being there!

We had a delightful meal enjoyed by everyone; the hake and lamb main courses were fabulous.

Shaun thank you so much for making such a memorable evening.

J
November 2023

Kendal, Cumbria

Shaun, The Cook in the North, produced the most fantastic dinner for a big family celebration. He handled all difficult situations brilliantly, went the extra mile, and put on a delicious three course meal for 27. Nothing fazed him and he left the kitchen spotless.

I would recommend him and his services without hesitation.

Jeremy Cox
October 2023

Kendal, Cumbria

Shaun - thank you so much for a wonderful meal which made our evening so special. The food was absolutely delicious and we really couldn’t have asked for more.

Thank you too for being a judge in our chutney challenge!

We would all highly recommend Shaun and feel very grateful for having his services and being part of our family celebration.

Philippa Cox
October 2023

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District

What a wonderful celebration meal we had! Shaun prepared and served for us a delicious meal of local, tasty produce that was cooked to perfection. Our group of 13 all thought it was one of the best meals we had ever had.

Shaun was friendly, attentive, efficient, a gifted chef and left the kitchen spotless (bonus!). Our experience with him from our first contact, to selecting the menu options and on the day was brilliant.

Absolutely 5 stars - we couldn’t recommend him highly enough and look forward to another meal prepared by The Cook in North soon!

Thank you again for the wonderful evening.

Liz Kavanagh
October 2023

The Lake District

Shaun was the most excellent chef. Very delicious dinner, a choice of starters which were excellent and the most outstanding beef Wellington for our very rowdy family of 27 people. He also took on the onerous task of judging the family Chutney Challenge which is no mean feat!

Shaun was flexible, highly professional, unfazed by our rather chaotic family party and so kind, thoughtful and a good laugh.

We highly recommend Shaun for any high end catering and we are so pleased to have met him.

Lizzy Moriarty
October 2023

The Lake District

5 stars!

Alex Cox
October 2023

Knaresborough, North Yorkshire

We had a fantastic evening with The Cook in the North for our anniversary dinner party. There were 8 of us in total and Shaun is very friendly, making it easy to have him in your home cooking.

Everyone enjoyed the food and thought it was delicious and we would definitely recommend him. Everyone is just trying to think of another occasion to have him back again!

Thanks for a very lovely evening!
And what a treat not having to cook or wash up after!

Katy Hitchings
October 2023

Grassington, Yorkshire Dales

We had a fantastic meal and were spoilt for options. Shaun gave excellent recommendations, answered all our questions and was extremely professional and tidy.

I would highly recommend Shaun.

Peter Lang
October 2023

Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales

I was so lucky to have Shaun cook my special, surprise birthday dinner.

Not only was the food sublime but Shaun is a lovely person to have in your home.

Isabelle Harrison
October 2023

Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales

Shaun was professional, punctual and personable. His communication and time taken to plan the meal that would work for our whole group was very good.

The food produced was exceptional.

I highly recommend The Cook in the North for your private events.

Katie Singleton
October 2023

Richmondshire, North Yorkshire

Shaun cooked the most incredible meal for my husband’s 40th birthday this weekend.

Fantastic service too. Can’t recommend highly enough!

We will definitely be planning more dinner parties in the future.

Heather Hardman
September 2023

Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Shaun prepared a fantastic meal which was a real highlight of our family celebration weekend. The food was delicious and Shaun was a lovely friendly guest, who left the kitchen spotless!

Sarah Huntington
September 2023

Crayke Manor, York

We had a fabulous family dinner with Shaun. The tapas feast was a perfect way for us to share delicious food as well as each other’s company. Shaun was attentive to every need - even preparing a separate meal for the kids.

We couldn’t possibly recommend him more highly - 11/10.

Can’t wait to get back to Yorkshire and hire him again.

Amir Louka, USA
August 2023

Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales

A great experience and lovely meal made with local fresh ingredients!

Andrew Watson
August 2023

Cartmel, Cumbria

Amazing! Shaun catered for 23 guests at a pre race day party I hosted last weekend. The food was delicious, there was plenty of it and it was all presented amazingly! Shaun cleared up after and left the kitchen spotless.

Would definitely use again.

Millie Haythornthwaite
August 2023

The Lake District

5 stars!

Dominic Littlewood
August 2023

Private home near Preston, Lancashire

Many thanks Shaun for a fabulous Tapas night / menu.
Our kitchen has never been so well organised!

Richard Ashcroft
August 2023

South Ribble, Lancashire

We absolutely loved our meal, all of the food was absolutely delicious and it was such a treat to be able to try so many different dishes with it being a tapas style dinner, thanks so much for a lovely evening!

Lizzie
August 2023

Bishopdale, Yorkshire Dales

Shaun catered for 20 of us at a celebration for my Mum’s 70th birthday and I would 100% recommend.

From first contact, to planning the menu, to the day itself, he was an absolute pleasure to deal with.

We loved the focus on sustainability and local sourcing, with some of the produce even being grown in Shaun’s own garden! And of course the food itself was delicious, there were clean plates all round!

To top it all off Shaun is just a genuinely nice guy, we all enjoyed chatting to him as he was prepping and serving the food. Thank you Shaun!

Aisling Balfe
July 2023

Windermere, Lake District

Thanks again for the amazing food! (everyone is mentioning how nice it was). A pity you are not based in Switzerland.
Plus this was basically the first time my sister was able to eat everything from her plate without having to worry about her IBS. We are very grateful how you were able to cater for her.

Moniek and Jakub, Switzerland
July 2023

Menston, West Yorkshire

Shaun (aka The Cook in the North) did a fantastic job of catering for my husband’s 50th.

The menu was perfect for the occasion and Shaun took all the stress out of the evening. He was very professional but still happy to chat to guests, take photos and just slotted in - working quietly away in our open plan kitchen without at any point making it feel like the cooking and food prep was the main focus - until the point when he served the food (as a buffet style) when everyone’s attention was fully on the delicious - and beautifully presented - spread of food.

Shaun left the kitchen looking immaculate (having washed all the crockery), meaning we could just focus on the celebrations. Even though I love cooking and entertaining, it was so lovely to have the evening off.

I would highly recommend The Cook in the North for any special occasion.

Elizabeth Selby
June 2023

Malton, North Yorkshire

We asked Shaun to cater for 16 people at the farmhouse we had rented for our friend's hen do. Shaun was professional, communicative and easy to work with to agree on budget, dishes and overall experience.

The food was lovely and beautifully presented, and we really valued his approach to home grown or locally sourced, seasonal tasty and nutritious meals, and being so accommodating to dietary needs and menu choices.

Shaun presented the menu to us at the beginning of the meal, was focussed throughout the cook but happy to chat when we passed through the kitchen, and was kind enough to spend a few minutes with the party to have some pictures and be thanked!

Would highly recommend Shaun for a large group to take the pressure off and enjoy the evening - and he left the kitchen spotless!!

Rebecca Hodge
June 2023

North Yorkshire

Five stars

Jess Brown
May 2023

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District

What a brilliant night!

Shaun came to cook for us as we celebrated a 70th birthday. Communication was great, he was well organised, professional and the food was truly delicious. We were really impressed and will definitely use Shaun again in the future. Thank you from all of us! 🙂

Lindsey Mishreki
May 2023

Rossendale, Lancashire

We booked Shaun for a hen do in Lancashire and he cooked an amazing tapas feast for us.

Beautiful and delicious food and very neat and tidy afterwards!

Definitely recommend.

Lucy Callaghan
April 2023

Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales

We booked Shaun for a family dinner at a cottage we were staying at in Yorkshire. He managed with the rustic kitchen no problem. He cooked a terrific meal which everyone thoroughly enjoyed, and we had a great time getting to know him and learning all about his culinary journey. Thoroughly recommend.

James Stokes
April 2023

Oughtershaw Hall, Yorkshire Dales

An absolutely superb chef to help us celebrate our special event in the Yorkshire Dales. The smells of the 3 course menu were spectacular. Every one of the 10 guests dining have continued to sing the praises of Shaun and his cooking. Thank you Shaun once again! We would certainly all recommend you!

Elizabeth Doyle
March 2023

Kelbrook, Lancashire

Shaun came in and cooked for a 50th birthday party where one of the party was gluten free and dairy free. We had a beautiful 3 course meal, flavours were delicious and all ingredients were top quality. Shaun was great with all the organisation... he is friendly, diligently works in the background and left a very tidy kitchen. Would highly recommend.

Nicky Bateman
February 2023